New Scholarships for Fall 2014

Announcing three new scholarships making a Wheaton education more affordable.


We are pleased to announce three new opportunities to make Wheaton’s exceptional educational experience more affordable. Two are merit-based scholarships. The third is the Yellow Ribbon Program for Post 9/11 GI Veterans Education Benefit recipients. Eligibility for these scholarships is determined through information provided on the admission application form. 

Merit-Based Scholarships

We now offer the following merit-based scholarships to all qualified freshmen starting Fall 2014. Recipients are granted the single highest award for which they qualify. The scholarships are renewable for up to 8 semesters. Any questions about GPA or test score eligibility can be directed to the Admissions Office – 800.222.2419 or

Charles Blanchard President's Award - $20,000

This premier merit scholarship is named for our second president, Charles Blanchard, who succeeded his father in the presidency and served Wheaton College for 43 years. According to current president Philip Ryken, "Charles Blanchard upheld and advanced Wheaton's original vision for Christian liberal arts education. We honor him for the same values we hope to find in the new students we welcome to campus: hard work, frugality, self-denial, compassion, and courage." The Blanchard Award will be granted to any first time, first year  freshman student who has a 3.7 unweighted high school GPA and has a minimum ACT composite score of 32 or a minimum SAT score of 1400 (Critical Reasoning and Math sections). The scholarship award is $20,000 ($5,000/yr. renewable with a 3.0 GPA at Wheaton College).

Arthur Holmes Award  - $10,000

The Arthur Holmes Award honors outstanding students with a merit scholarship named after one of Wheaton's most distinguished graduates. Arthur F. Holmes was a veteran of World War II who, after completing his doctorate, returned to spend his career teaching Philosophy at Wheaton College. His influence can hardly be overstated; he inspired generations of graduates to bring distinctively Christian perspectives to the very secular field of Philosophy with remarkable results; became a tireless advocate for Christian higher education, thus strengthening the entire Christian college and university movement; and raised the vision of many for how we can honorably serve Christ in all areas of life. We urge the recipients of this award to aspire to excellence in service to Christ in their academic preparation at Wheaton College. The Holmes Award will provide a new second tier of merit awards.  It will be awarded to any first time, first year freshman who has a 3.6 unweighted GPA and has a minimum ACT score of 30 or a minimum SAT score of 1330 (Critical Reasoning and Math sections). This scholarship award is $10,000 ($2,500/yr. renewable with a 3.0 GPA at Wheaton College).

Special Notes about the Scholarships

Recipients will be granted the single highest award for which they qualify and will receive official notification in their acceptance letter from Wheaton College.

National Merit Finalists and Semi-finalists

Either the Blanchard or the Holmes Awards can be combined with our current National Merit Scholarship which is a maximum of $20,000 ($5,000/year). This can increase the total award level for National Merit Finalists, who list Wheaton as their first choice, to a total of $40,000 or $30,000, respectively. National Merit Semi-finalists who do not become Finalists will be eligible for a one-time non-renewable $5,000 scholarship.


Wheaton utilizes “superscores” for both the SAT and the ACT when considering eligibility for the Holmes and Blanchard scholarships. This means that we combine the highest individual sub-scores from multiple tests in order to create a new composite score. For this reason, retaking the exam can be particularly worthwhile if an increase of a couple points would position a student for a scholarship.

Example: A student could take the SAT twice and receive a higher score in Math the first time but a higher score in Critical Reasoning the second time. The first Math score and the second Critical Reasoning score create the composite score.

Test scores must be sent directly to Wheaton College (identify Wheaton on your test application to have scores sent) and received no later than March 1st of the senior year for scholarship eligibility. For Fall 2014 applicants, the SAT or ACT can be re-taken through the February test dates of the student's senior year.

Yellow Ribbon Program

Wheaton College will participate in the Yellow Ribbon Program  which makes additional funds available for Post 9/11 GI Veterans Education Benefit recipients. In this agreement, Wheaton College and the VA agree to fund tuition and fee expenses that exceed the tuition and fee amounts payable under the Post 9/11 GI Bill. The Yellow Ribbon Award supersedes any other Wheaton College Institutional scholarships or grants. Enrollment for this program will be available starting March 15, 2014.  


Media Center