Edman Memorial Chapel

Chicago Symphony Orchestra at Wheaton College

Friday, March 17, 2017 at 7:30 pm in Edman Memorial Chapel


Riccardo Muti, conductor
Mitsuko Uchida, piano

Riccardo MutiMitsuko Uchida


Gioachino Rossini: Overture to La scala di seta
Ludwig van Beethoven: Piano Concerto No. 3
Samuel Adams: New Work [World Premiere, CSO Commission]
Robert Schumann: Symphony No. 4

Riccardo Muti leads Rossini’s Overture to La scala di seta and Beethoven’s Third Piano Concerto, performed by Mitsuko Uchida, an artist who “guides the audience through every conceivable emotion” (The Telegraph). Muti closes the program with a world premiere by CSO Mead Composer-in-Residence Samuel Adams and Schumann’s Fourth Symphony, in which the composer departed from the standard symphonic form to make a groundbreaking “symphony in one movement.”

Media Center