Urban and International Tutoring Ministries

Menu

Dearborn Tutoring

Tutor and build friendships with children and teens living in the Southside of Chicago in housing projects. 

Wednesdays 5:30-9:30 pm

Contacts: Kathryn.Brightly@my.wheaton.edu and Spencer.Nelessen@my.wheaton.edu


By the Hand

By the Hand focuses on nurturing children from an under-resourced community in an inclusive, loving manner by providing and caring for their body, soul, and mind.  Volunteers at By the Hand invest in children who come from impoverished communities until they are well adjusted responsible adults and beyond. Thursdays 3:00 pm - 8:00 pm

Contacts: Julia.Dennis@my.wheaton.edu and Kelsey.McDonald@my.wheaton.edu

Lowell/Longfellow Tutoring

Serve immigrant and refugee elementary students through World Relief’s after school tutoring program at Lowell Elementary and Longfellow Elementary in Wheaton. Tuesdays at Lowell 3:00 - 6:00 pm

Contacts: Lydia.Gantz@my.wheaton.edu and Bethany.Weidemann@my.wheaton.edu

Tuesdays at Longfellow 3:00- 6:00 pm

Contacts: Rebecca.Cooper@my.wheaton.edu and Melinda.Faulk@my.wheaton.edu


Pui Tak

Adult Tutoring: Form relationships with Chinese immigrants living in Chinatown by tutoring them in ESL.  Children's Tutoring: Tutor Chinese elementary or middle-schoolers in ESL and other topics.  Lesson plans required.  

Saturdays 8:30 am – 1:30 pm

Contact: Jingyang.Ng@my.wheaton.edu



Dearborn Tutoring

Tutor and build friendships with children and teens living in the Southside of Chicago in housing projects. 

Wednesdays 5:30-9:30 pm

Contacts: Kathryn.Brightly@my.wheaton.edu and Spencer.Nelessen@my.wheaton.edu


By the Hand

By the Hand focuses on nurturing children from an under-resourced community in an inclusive, loving manner by providing and caring for their body, soul, and mind.  Volunteers at By the Hand invest in children who come from impoverished communities until they are well adjusted responsible adults and beyond. Thursdays 3:00 pm - 8:00 pm

Contacts: Julia.Dennis@my.wheaton.edu and Kelsey.McDonald@my.wheaton.edu

Lowell/Longfellow Tutoring

Serve immigrant and refugee elementary students through World Relief’s after school tutoring program at Lowell Elementary and Longfellow Elementary in Wheaton. Tuesdays at Lowell 3:00 - 6:00 pm

Contacts: Lydia.Gantz@my.wheaton.edu and Bethany.Weidemann@my.wheaton.edu

Tuesdays at Longfellow 3:00- 6:00 pm

Contacts: Rebecca.Cooper@my.wheaton.edu and Melinda.Faulk@my.wheaton.edu


Pui Tak

Adult Tutoring: Form relationships with Chinese immigrants living in Chinatown by tutoring them in ESL.  Children's Tutoring: Tutor Chinese elementary or middle-schoolers in ESL and other topics.  Lesson plans required.  

Saturdays 8:30 am – 1:30 pm

Contact: Jingyang.Ng@my.wheaton.edu