Urban and International Tutoring Ministries

Menu

 

International Tutoring

Hawthorne Tutoring

Serve immigrant and refugee elementary students through after school tutoring program at Hawthorne Elementary in Wheaton.

Thursdays 3:00 pm - 6:00 pm

Contacts: Genny.Austin@my.wheaton.edu and Ingrid.Swanson@my.wheaton.edu

Lowell Tutoring

Serve immigrant and refugee elementary students through World Relief’s after school tutoring program at Lowell Elementary and Longfellow Elementary in Wheaton.

Tuesdays 3:00 - 6:00 pm

Contacts: Emily.Towbridge@my.wheaton.edu

Pui Tak

Adult Tutoring: Form relationships with Chinese immigrants living in Chinatown by tutoring them in ESL.  Children's Tutoring: Tutor Chinese elementary or middle-schoolers in ESL and other topics.  Lesson plans required.  

Saturdays 8:30 am – 1:30 pm

Contact: Joshua.Knowlton@my.wheaton.edu

Wheaton North Tutoring

Come alongside small groups of high school refugee students developing relationships while helping them navigate their transition to the United States with homework help, activities, sports, etc.

Thursdays 1:30 pm - 3:30 pm

Contact: Shannon.Porteous@my.wheaton.edu

Urban Tutoring

 

By the Hand

By the Hand focuses on nurturing children from an under-resourced community in an inclusive, loving manner by providing and caring for their body, soul, and mind.  Volunteers at By the Hand invest in children who come from impoverished communities until they are well adjusted responsible adults and beyond.

Thursdays 3:00 pm - 8:00 pm

Contacts: Rachel.Gowland@my.wheaton.edu

 

Dearborn Tutoring

Tutor and build friendships with children and teens living in the Southside of Chicago in housing projects. 

Wednesdays 5:30-9:30 pm

Contacts: Courtney.Bunn@my.wheaton.edu

Media Center