William Osborne Society at Wheaton College

William Osborne Society

Menu

Mission

The William Osborne Society exists to provide Black students an avenue to make their unique contribution to Wheaton College. Our goal is to provide the space for all students to fellowship, serve, play and worship together in the context of Black cultures in order to make Wheaton College more reflective of the wider world for Christ and His Kingdom.

Vision

In order to achieve our mission we have developed a fourfold vision for the William Osborne Society. Our first aim is to promote Black fellowship and leadership. Our second aim is to provide opportunities for community outreach and service. Our third aim is to invite Wheaton students to share and participate in Black cultures. And our fourth, and final, aim is to worship in the context of the Black church.

William Osborne Society was established in 1987.

A Student's Insight

William Osborne Society at Wheaton CollegeOne of the great things about Willie-O this year, according to junior Prisca Tuyishime '17, is the community that has been developed. Prisca shared that Willie-O has been an extremely important community to her because it is a safe place to gather with students who look like her and care about her experiences. She also appreciates the group’s sense of honesty and vulnerability they have shared throughout the year.

One of the highlights of the year has been the Rhythm and Praise Chapel service that Willie-O organized. They shared their experiences and culture with the rest of campus in an offer of worship to God.

Cabinet

Emma Allen

President

emma.allen@my.wheaton.edu

Murad Dillard

Vice President

murad.dillard@my.wheaton.edu

Jordan Frisby

Secretarial and Business Manager

jordan.frisby@my.wheaton.edu

Kiki Francois   

Event and Publicity Manager

kiki.francois@my.wheaton.edu

Mariah May

Event Planner

mariah.may@my.wheaton.edu

Christian Ganza

Brotherhood Coordinator

christian.ganza@my.wheaton.edu

Danae Brooks

Sisterhood Coordinator

danae.brooks@my.wheaton.edu

Lauren Whitfield Chaplain  lauren.whitfield@my.wheaton.edu

 

Media Center